NSCS Peer Mentoring Program

About Us

The Neuroscience and Cognitive Science major recruits the most avid and determined individuals from the program to be mentors to incoming freshmen and pre-majors. We seek students who are willing to share their experience and the wisdom that they’ve obtained here at the University of Arizona. The peer mentor program is meant to provide lowerclassmen with more resources and guidance that is unavailable in a classroom setting. We find the best fit for each mentee by carefully matching their interests and goals to mentors that share those same aspirations. The peer mentor program is a student-ran program under the supervision of the Neuroscience and Cognitive Science program coordinators. Our goal is to provide students with resources and a sense of community within the major that will last them until they graduate.  

*We refer to our Mentors as ‘Glia’ and our Mentees as ‘Neurons’*

 

Meet your Glia

 

Peer Mentor Coordinators

Glia Liaisons:

Eddie Vargas.png

Eddie Vargas eddievargas@email.arizona.edu

Gigi Ruiz .jpg

Gigi Ruiz grruiz@email.arizona.edu

Geethika Ameneni Liaison.JPG

Geethika Ameneni gameneni@email.arizona.edu

 

Neuron Liaisons:

Frankie.png

Frankie Garcia Frankiegarcia16@email.arizona.edu

Nupur Parikh .JPG

Nupur Parikh nupurparikh@email.arizona.edu

 

 

Haley Kenner .jpeg

Haley Kenner haleykenner@email.arizona.edu

 

SZL.png

Sylvia Zarnescu sylviazarnescu@email.arizona.edu

 

 

Event and Engagement:

Abby Gentzler .JPG

Abby Gentzler abigailgentzler@email.arizona.edu

Julia Bonnici.jpeg

Julia Bonnici jbonnici@email.arizona.edu

 

Micayla Miller.JPG

Micayla Miller micaylarmiller@email.arizona.edu

S.png

Shruti Attreya shrutiattreya@email.arizona.edu

 

 

Matching and Recruitment:

Bassil Ramadan.jpeg

Bassil Ramadan bar3@email.arizona.edu

Joanna Eckhardt .JPG

Joanna Eckhardt joeckhardt@email.arizona.edu

 

Charlie Gallego.jpg

Charles Gallego sepgallego@email.arizona.edu